This weekend I am attending the B Connected Conference in Ottawa. I am working with Active for Life to bring awareness to their site and social media channels.

” Experts agree that physical literacy is just as important as reading, writing, and arithmetic.”

This simple statement made me want to work with the Active for life team. Really, that is it. They capture my values as a parent, educator and community coach.

As well, I hope to help parents, community members and coaches develop an understanding of physical literacy.

AfL_Logo

“Physical literacy comes from developing a wide variety of fundamental movement skills such as hopping, skipping, throwing, catching and jumping. Kids have a lot more fun being active when they are physically literate. Physically active kids get higher grades in school, have better social skills and are happier and more confident.”

Is there really anything else we want for our kids then for them to be happy?

This weekend, I will be asking questions, tweeting pictures and generally engaging my community to connect with the #AfLKids community.

RT my tweets or ask me questions on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest using the #AfLKids hashtag this weekend, and each impression will enter you into a draw to win an Active for Life Spring Kit. My friends at Active for Life headquarters will pick a winner Sunday night.

Good Luck to all my readers and active families across Canada. If you are at the B Connected Conference come over and ask me Physical Literacy.

Save the date! We will also be hosting a Facebook party on April 26th, 2014 at 8:00 pm. There will be interesting questions, fun ideas to keep your kids active and of course prizes. There will be more information to come!