Valentine’s Day holds a special meaning in our home. It is not about the paper hearts or chocolate covered cherries, but about spending time together as a family. This past weekend we created a family event to celebrate Valentine’s Day.

This year we started with the decorations for our evening. Andie created this winking heart themed Owl to watch over us as we have dinner.

PR Mom Ottawa

PR Mom Ottawa

Then we finished our homemade Valentine’s Day cards for our family and classroom friends.

Valentine's Day Cardphoto (1)

For dinner. Beckett decided we would have “P” inspired dinner including pasta, peaches, pie, pears and peppermint tea.

We tried to find the best heart-shaped pasta we could. Everyone agreed that the Oliveri fresh pasta was the best. Katie likes to eat hers plain, with a little parmesan cheese, Beckett toasted and sprinkled with olive oil, while Andie and likes a nice melted cheddar cheese sauce.

I wanted something a little different for my husband and I. We found a recipe for on the Oliveri.ca site that caught my eye. The Melting Heart Ravioli with Vanilla Champagne Butter sauce, sounded like the perfect recipe to try.  The recipe took less than 15 minutes to make and is at a basic skill level to create.

The picture below is NOT my picture. It can’t be, as once the dish was completed and ready to serve my border collies knocked the pan out of my hand and onto the floor. I love my dogs, I think this might have been their way of saying they wanted to join in the Valentine’s Day celebrations with the rest of the family.

 

 

Melting Heart Ravioli with Vanilla Champagne Butter Sauce

I modified the ingredients slightly to suit our tastes.

  • 3 tbsp (45 mL) Butter, divided
  • 2 Cloves garlic, minced
  • ½ cup (125 mL) Champagne or dry sparkling wine
  • 1 ½ cups (375 mL) Whipping cream (35%)
  • 4 slices of cooked Maple Leaf Bacon
  • green onions
  • 1 (300 g) Package Olivieri® Hearts Cheese Ravioli
  • Arugula
  • Parmesan cheese curls

We didn’t even actually taste the dish, but it smelled fabulous. I hope everyone has a chance to try fresh  Oliveri Heart shaped pasta, but remember it’s only in stores for a limited time!

 

logo

Don’t forget to enter the Olivieri Spa giveaway for two at  http://www.winwitholivieri.com/generic

Make sure to follow Olivieri on all their social media channels.